Movies & Television > Film Festivals

Cannes Film Festival

Sept. 20, 1946: The first Cannes Film Festival (le Festival international du film de Cannes) opens in the town of Cannes in the south of France.

1949: The first year in which a single film is honored as the year's best. The film is The Third Man, directed by Carol Reed.

1951: Miracle in Milan, directed by Vittorio de Sica and Miss Julie, directed by Alf Sjöberg tie for the honor of best film of the year.

1952: Othello, directed by Orson Welles, and Two Cents Worth of Hope, directed by Renato Castellani, tie for best film of the year.

1953: The Wages of Fear, directed by Henri-Georges Clouzot, is named best film of the year.

1954: Gate of Hell (Jigokumon), directed by Teinosuke Kinugasa, is named best film of the year.

1955: The award for the year's best film is first officially called the Palme d'Or (the Golden Palm). The first film to win this award is Marty, directed by Delbert Mann.

1956: The Silent World France, directed by Jacques-Yves Cousteau and Louis Malle wins the Palme d'Or.

1957: Friendly Persuasion, directed by William Wyler, wins the Palme d'Or.

1958: The Cranes Are Flying, directed by Nikolai Kalatozov, wins the Palme d'Or.

1959: Black Orpheus, directed by Marcel Camus, wins the Palme d'Or.

1960: La Dolce Vita, directed by Federico Fellini, wins the Palme d'Or.

1961: The Long Absence, directed by Henri Colpi and Viridiana, directed by Luis Buñuel, tie for the Palme d'Or.

1962: The Given Word, directed by Anselmo Duarte, wins the Palme d'Or.

1963: The Leopard, directed by Luchino Visconti, wins the Palme d'Or.

1964: The name of the Palme d'Or award is changed to "Grand Prize of the Festival" (Grand Prix International du Festival). The Umbrellas of Cherbourg, directed by Jacques Demy, wins the prize that year.

1965: The Knack...and How to Get It, directed by Richard Lester, wins the Grand Prize.

1966: The Birds, the Bees, and the Italians, directed by Pietro Germi and A Man and a Woman, directed by Claude Lelouch, tie for the Grand Prize.

1967: Blow-up, directed by Michelangelo Antonioni, wins the Grand Prize.

1969: If... , directed by Lindsay Anderson, wins the Grand Prize.

1970: M*A*S*H, directed by Robert Altman, wins the Grand Prize of the Festival.

1971: The Go-Between, directed by Joseph Losey, wins the Grand Prize.

1972: The Mattei Affair, directed by Francesco Rosi, and The Working Classes Go to Heaven, directed by Elio Petri, tie for the Grand Prize.

1973: The Hireling, directed by Alan Bridges and Scarecrow, directed by Jerry Schatzberg, tie for the Grand Prize.

1974: The award for best film is again called the Palme d'Or. The Conversation, directd by Francis Ford Coppola, wins the prize that year.

1975: Chronicle of the Burning Years, directed by Mohammed Lakhdar-Hamina, wins the Palme d'Or.

1976: Taxi Driver, directed by Martin Scorsese, wins the Palme d'Or.

1977: Padre padrone, directed by Paolo & Vittorio Taviani, wins the prize.

1978: The Tree of Wooden Clogs, directed by Ermanno Olmi, wins.

1979: Apocalypse Now, directed by Francis Ford Coppola, wins top honors.

The Tin Drum, directed by Volker Schlöndorff, wins.

1980: All That Jazz, directed by Bob Fosse ties with
Kagemusha, directed by Akira Kurosawa.

1981: Man of Iron Poland, directed by Andrzej Wajda, wins.

1982: Missing, directed by Costa-Gavras ties with Yol, directed by Serif Goren & Yilmaz Guney.

1983: The Ballad of Narayama, directed by Shohei Imamura, wins.

1984: Paris, Texas, directed by Wim Wenders, wins.

1985: When Father Was Away on Business, directed by Emir Kusturica takes the prize.

1986: The Mission, directed by Roland Joff, wins.

1987: Under Satan's Sun, directed by Maurice Pialat, wins the Palme d'Or.

1988: Pelle the Conqueror, directed by Bille August, wins the top award.

1989: sex, lies, and videotape, directed by Steven Soderbergh, wins the Palme d'Or.

1990: Wild at Heart, directed by David Lynch, wins the top honor.

1991: Barton Fink, directed by Joel Coen, wins the top award.

1992: The Best Intentions, directed by Bille August, wins the top award.

1993: Farewell, My Concubine, directed by Chen Kaige and
The Piano, directed by Jane Campion, tie for the award.

1994: Pulp Fiction, directed by Quentin Tarantino, wins the Palme d'Or.

1995: Underground, directed by Emir Kusturica, wins.

1996: Secrets & Lies, directed by Mike Leigh, wins.

1997: The Eel Japan, directed by Shohei Imamura ties with Taste of Cherry, directed by Abbas Kiarostami.

1998: Eternity and a Day, directed by Theo Angelopoulos, wins.

1999: Rosetta, directed by Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne, wins.

2000: Dancer in the Dark, directed by Lars von Trier, takes the prize.

2001: The Son's Room, directed by Nanni Moretti, wins.

2002: The Pianist, directed by Roman Polanski, wins.

2003: Elephant, directed by Gus Van Sant, wins.

2004: Fahrenheit 9/11, directed by Michael Moore, wins the Palme d'Or.

2005: The Child, directed by Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne, wins.